the new girl in town

Lions & Tigers & Bears! Oh My!

Posted in art by Dani on January 15, 2010

Aren't these doll babies simply delightful? (Source: lotushaus.typepad.com)

Art is not a thing; it is a way. –Elbert Hubbard

A [bright and sunny] good afternoon to my digital darlings! Because the second semester is in full swing with two fabulous art classes in tow [Sculpture & Drawing. Yay!] , I am more determined than ever to blog daily. Yesterday afternoon, my sculpture professor asked us to bring in at least a couple of stuffed animals for next week’s class. I am super excited and curious to see what we, as a class, are going to do with them. Looking at the website of the ultra quaint Brooklyn boutique, Bird‘s current “baby bird” page, made me think of my upcoming art assignment. While perusing the site, I stumbled upon these absolutely adorable stuffed animals called, Arrow Kuma Bears. With their bold patterns and vivid color schemes, these bears burst at the seams with panache and originality. Certainly not your average bear, if you ask me. Haha. Constructed by Manhattan mastermind, Ross Menuez, these organic cotton cuties are hand silk-screened employing green […environmental, that is], soy-based dyes. Want a Kuma cuddly companion of your own? AREAWARE has got you covered.

In an incredibly interesting Spanish Literature class that I sat in on yesterday, the class discussed what constituted as art and what did not. What is the difference between “[re]crear” and “[re]producir“? Gosh, what a tough question!

When looking at the ArKu bears and pondering those questions, I asked myself if toys could be considered art. In my humble opinion, I would say so. To me, art evokes emotion and so do these, giving the classic Teddy Bear a fresh twist.

So the question[s] is are: What is art? Can it be something that can defined? I would love to hear read your thoughts!

Happy Birthday to ya, Dr. King [Me? A shameless Stevie Wonder fan? That I am. Haha.],

Dani

P.S. Have a wonderful weekend, lovies!

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Shannon said, on January 20, 2010 at 10:12 PM

    great question Dani! I think art is anything that looks and feels important, amazing, or insignificant… I think everything is art. Really… I guess that’s why I feel like an artist! 🙂

    p.s. I *cannot* wait to see/read about your sculpture and drawing projects!!!!

    • disfordani said, on January 21, 2010 at 12:39 AM

      What a great answer! So insightful.

      P.S. Your enthusiasm and anticipation makes me smile. Haha.

  2. Maggie Washington said, on February 2, 2010 at 3:59 PM

    This article is actually the greatest on this noteworthy topic. I absolutely feel the same way with your points of view and will eagerly look forward to your forthcoming updates. Just saying thanks will not just be sufficient, for the great clarity in your writing. I will right away grab your rss feed to stay in the loop of any updates. Good work and much success in your life!

    • disfordani said, on February 3, 2010 at 1:14 AM

      I cannot thank you enough for the comment and best wishes! I really appreciate it! You are too kind! Thank you so much for visiting my blog, commenting, and subscribing. It really means a lot. Much success in your life as well! Please feel free to comment whenever you’d like! I’d love to hear from you again!

  3. […] on personal and professional interests, I have also been able to relate them to one another. During a post in January, I stumbled across a new breed of stuffed animals called Arrow Kuma Bear that gave the […]


Leave a comment